Our Story

Verbinnen’s Nursery was established in the year 2000 when John and Cindy Verbinnen acquired the nursery from Cindy’s father, Henry Groen, who retired from operating Groen’s Nursery Ltd. John and Cindy have over 40 years experience in growing tree and shrub seedlings, having worked in the industry for several decades. Since then sons Alex and Mark have also become part of the ownership team.

Verbinnen’s Nursery specializes in growing native (indigenous) species of tree and shrub seedlings. Our products are used for naturalization projects, roadside plantings, commercial, residential and municipal landscaping and for growing on in larger containers and field production.

We're Growing!

We grow about 100,000 field grown seedlings for bare root production, another 400,000 seedlings in plugs and over 180,000 trees and shrubs in containers ranging from a 1 to 15-gallons. We also buy and resell products as necessary to meet the needs of our customers.

We are easily accessible to our customers around Ontario, located just north of Hamilton, Ontario, halfway between the 401 and 403. This location makes for easy shipping to our customers in other areas as well.

We serve a variety of customers, including landscaping contractors, conservation authorities, municipalities and other nurseries. We value our customers and our relationship with them. Our goal at all times and for all our customers is to provide a high quality plant at a reasonable price.

Our Staff

John Verbinnen

Owner/President

jverbinnen@verbinnens.com

Bernard Teeninga

Office Administrator/Sales

bernard@verbinnens.com

John Joubert

Accounting

jjoubert@verbinnens.com

John Morse

Operations Manager

jmorse@verbinnens.com

Alex Verbinnen

Propagation Manager

alex@verbinnens.com

Mark Verbinnen

Inventory Control

mark@verbinnens.com

Derek May

Delivery Driver

Htoo K'nyaw

Container Production Manager

Eh Blu Htoo

VPL Production Coordinator

Poh Ra Say

VPL Shipping Manager

Cail Beisel

Assistant Propagation Manager

Sean Fox

Botanist & Seed Specialist

sean@verbinnens.com